Removing a runner from a repository
Note: This procedure permanently removes the self-hosted runner. If you only want to temporarily stop a runner from being assigned jobs, you can either shut down the machine or stop the run application. The runner will remain assigned in an "Offline" state, and won't execute any jobs until you restart the runner using the run application.
A self-hosted runner is automatically removed from GitHub if it has not connected to GitHub Actions for more than 14 days.
An ephemeral self-hosted runner is automatically removed from GitHub if it has not connected to GitHub Actions for more than 1 day.
To remove a self-hosted runner from a user repository you must be the repository owner. For an organization repository, you must be an organization owner or have admin access to the repository. We recommend that you also have access to the self-hosted runner machine. For information about how to remove a self-hosted runner with the REST API, see "Self-hosted runners."
Alternatively, if you don't have access to the repository or organization on GitHub to remove a runner, but you would like to re-use the runner machine, then you can delete the .runner file inside the self-hosted runner application directory. This allows the runner to be registered without having to re-download the self-hosted runner application.
-
On GitHub.com, navigate to the main page of the repository.
-
Under your repository name,