Skip to main content

Deleting a codespace

You can delete a codespace you no longer need.

Overview

GitHub Codespaces are automatically deleted after they have been stopped and have remained inactive for a defined number of days. The retention period for each codespace is set when the codespace is created and does not change. The default retention period is 30 days. For more information, see "Configuring automatic deletion of your codespaces